Author Topic: Using the PCB Dipole on 915MHz  (Read 2182 times)

raypat

• NewMember
Using the PCB Dipole on 915MHz
« on: March 22, 2019, 10:18:23 PM »
Hi all,
I am a glider pilot from Australia looking to improve the flarm reception in my glider. Currently just have a approx. 3 inch stubby antenna protruding from the top of the instrument panel cover and range is not very good.I have purchased CHEM E's antenna element from the link on page 1 of this thread. 915 Mhz Rev 1. Australian Flarm operates on 921 Mhz. Have I bought the correct element and do I just follow the build instructions for 915 Mhz? Or do I need a different pigtail cable length? Can anyone put me on the right track Thanks. Cheers Ray.

Felix

• Administrator
    • LowPowerLab
Re: Using the PCB Dipole on 915MHz
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2019, 04:58:57 PM »
raypat,
Probably better as a separate thread.
You can trim the antenna to make it more resonant at higher frequencies than the current resonant frequency.
To measure where that point is you need an antenna analyzer.
Otherwise you can only guess how well the SWR is.

raypat

• NewMember
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 02:35:29 AM »
OK Thanks Felix. When you say I can trim the antenna do I trim the pigtail or the actual antenna element? I have read some other posts and sighted a formula for the pigtail length for different frequencies. If that is what is required I think I can work it out but cutting the actual antenna to the correct length would be beyond my capabilities. I have neither an  analyser or the knowledge to use one.
Cheers Ray

Felix

• Administrator
    • LowPowerLab
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2019, 07:55:05 AM »
The PCB antenna has 2 elements, and their length (they should be equal whatever the length is) will determine what frequency the dipole resonates at.