Author Topic: Suggestion for possible improvements of RFM69 library  (Read 2620 times)

RoSchmi

• NewMember
Suggestion for possible improvements of RFM69 library
« on: December 18, 2016, 09:40:45 AM »
First of all, thank you for making you great library open source.
In the last months I studied the code quite intensively and found two minor points of potential improvements.
1) Concerns RFM69_ATC: If ATC is activated and the recipient does not return ACKs, the sender dials up the power level til it reaches 31. It would be nice, if the maximal powerlevel could be limited to a value defined by the user. This could be achieved through a second optional parameter to the setPowerLevel function specifying the maximum value to which the power is dialed up when the recipient is not online.
2) Concerns the sendACK and canSend methods:

Code: [Select]
RFM69::canSend() 
{                                                                                                      // CSMA_LIMIT = - 90
    if (_mode == RF69_MODE_RX && PAYLOADLEN == 0 && readRSSI() < CSMA_LIMIT) // if signal stronger than -100dBm is detected assume channel activity
    {
        setMode(RF69_MODE_STANDBY);
        return true;
    }
    return false;
}

// should be called immediately after reception in case sender wants ACK
void RFM69::sendACK(const void* buffer, uint8_t bufferSize) {
  ACK_REQUESTED = 0;   // TWS added to make sure we don't end up in a timing race and infinite loop sending Acks
  uint8_t sender = SENDERID;
  int16_t _RSSI = RSSI; // save payload received RSSI value
  writeReg(REG_PACKETCONFIG2, (readReg(REG_PACKETCONFIG2) & 0xFB) | RF_PACKET2_RXRESTART); // avoid RX deadlocks
  uint32_t now = millis();
  while (!canSend() && millis() - now < RF69_CSMA_LIMIT_MS) receiveDone();    // RF69_CSMA_LIMIT_MS = 1000 ms
  SENDERID = sender;    // TWS: Restore SenderID after it gets wiped out by receiveDone()
  sendFrame(sender, buffer, bufferSize, false, true);