Author Topic: Introduction and some help please  (Read 1698 times)

JRoode35

• NewMember
Introduction and some help please
« on: October 13, 2014, 05:41:19 PM »
Felix,

First of all I would like to commend you on the outstanding work you have done with Moteino, I've seen so many "projects" online and most come with halfway decent tutorials but you have taken it all the way to a very nice finished product, excellent work! I will be ordering a few this week.

My name is Justin and I've had a passion for electronics since childhood, I have an AA degree in electronic engineering from ITT Technical Institute and have enjoyed the hobby my whole life.

My dilemma, I have the hardware side mastered and have no problem reading schematics and hooking things up, I even make all my own boards using the positive photo method. On the other hand I have stayed away from programming because I was always intimidated by it. About 8 months ago I bought a few genuine Arduino's and started to learn programming, I have read everything I can find and have come a long way. I have been wanting to make a wireless security system with some home automation and have been working on it for months which eventually led me to your site. As of right now I have two RFm69HW hooked up to two separate Arduino Nano's I have loaded the Gateway sketch onto one and the Node sketch onto the other, I have all your library's installed and the code compiles and uploads fine, I un-commented the 915Mhz as well as the Rfm69HW only line. When I open up the serial monitor on the Node I get "Transmitting 915Mhz..." on the Gateway I get Nothing. I am using bidirectional logic level shifters on all the pins from the radios 2,10,11,12,13 I am also running the radios from a seperate 3.3V regulator because I know the Nano's can't supply the 130mA the radios need at full power. At this point all I really want to do is