Author Topic: Connecting SMA Pigtail to Moteino  (Read 3690 times)

Humancell

• NewMember
  • The future is awesome!
Connecting SMA Pigtail to Moteino
« on: October 11, 2016, 11:51:45 AM »
Hello,

I'm curious if there are any specific instructions/details that I ought to consider if I want to connect an external dipole antenna to the Moteino via a SMA pigtail.  I'm not an RF engineer, and so I'm not sure of some of the implications of doing this.  My primary intention is to have the Moteino in an enclosure, and have the SMA bulkhead connector exposed to connect the SMA dipole.

The pigtail is like this:  https://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-SMA-Female-Jack-Connector-Switch-SMA-Female-Jack-Cable-RG316-Wholesale-Fast-Ship-15CM-6/32229453413.html

The antenna would be something like this: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3G-GSM-Antenna-5dBi-850-900-1800-1900-2100-MHZ-SMA-Male-Floding-Omni-aerial-For/32405312060.html

I'm mostly curious about where both conductors of the pigtail coax would connect ... the antenna connection (center) would be to the ant connection, and the gnd/shield of the coax to any ground?

Are their issues with length, etc. of the coax?

Anything else I ought to consider (besides radiated power limit issues?)

captcha

Re: Connecting SMA Pigtail to Moteino
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2016, 05:38:21 PM »
The antenna in the link does not look like a dipole but seems to be a (quarter-wave) vertical. If it isn't a dipole but a vertical it needs a ground plane. Important question: do you want to use a dipole or do you want to use the antenna pictured in the link?

The connectors can just be soldered on to the moteino board. If you can't mount the connector directly onto the board you can have a short length of of feedline from the board to the bulkhead connector; Coax shield to GND closest to the antenna pad on the radio module, centre conductor to the ANT pad. Keep connections neat and short.