Author Topic: Changing the RMF69 radio configuration [+300kbps settings]  (Read 309966 times)

sid1202

• NewMember
Changing the RMF69 radio configuration [+300kbps settings]
« on: August 21, 2016, 08:28:50 PM »
Hi guy's,

I'm pretty new at all this but I'm learning pretty fast.

I have a project that uses the radio with it's default config quite happily, but there is one thing I'd like to implement sporadically and it's the ability to have push to talk communication between 2 of my nodes.

I was thinking of setting the radio on continuous mode and pumping my sampling directly to the transceiver via DIO2 for as long as the button is pushed (either side) and then go back to the default config. The transceiver needs to be at a bit rate greater than 64kbps for that moment.

I've been reading the datasheets and I think it can be done. Of course the range will be short for PTT but it doesn't need to be far, just a couple of hundred feet.

I found some of the registers I need to change and how I would wire this up, but implementing it in the code is a little beyond my current understanding.

Can anyone give me some hints on how to implement this ?

I'm using a Adafruit Feather 32u4 RMF69HCW with the Arduino IDE and LowPowerLab's librarie.

Thank you !

Sidney
« Last Edit: November 17, 2016, 08:54:43 PM by Felix »

sid1202

• NewMember
Re: Changing the RMF69HCW configuration and back
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 12:10:20 PM »
The question is RFM69HCW specific and not MCU specific. Configuring the radio uses the library calls to set the radios registers and the library is not supported by Adafruit.

emjay

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 12:52:26 PM »
@sid1202,

Unfortunately, streaming data like that is a violation of the usage rules in the ISM band - have a look at the section on duty cycle.

Felix

• Administrator
    • LowPowerLab
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2016, 06:59:39 PM »