Author Topic: Antenna Length and VSWR effect (reflected power from antenna)  (Read 18141 times)

sparky

Antenna Length and VSWR effect (reflected power from antenna)
« on: August 22, 2016, 07:38:05 PM »
First I would like to say that I'm very new to all this so forgive me for the noobie questions moving forward.

I purchased a couple RFM69HW 868/915 MHZ Moteino's and I'm just about finished soldering everything up.  I was about ready to solder the antenna's but had a question about the length.  According to the Moteino "pinout" page, the length should be 86mm (868) / 82mm (915).  The antennas that came with mine are both 79mm. 

After reading some posts on damaging the units from either incorrect antenna or wrong settings I wanted to make sure the lengths are correct.

Thanks,
GM 
« Last Edit: August 23, 2016, 11:19:08 PM by Felix »

perky

Re: Antenna Length
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 08:25:56 PM »
The lengths quoted are for 1/4 wave wire type antenna, however you can twist or coil the antenna to add inductance and shorten it's length and it will still be 1/4 wave. Does this 79mm antenna have a spiral around the edge?

Mark.

sparky

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 08:31:09 PM »
No, it's just a straight piece of wire that was shipped with the moteino.

Thanks

perky

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2016, 09:05:51 PM »
Might not make a significant difference. There's a theory for dipoles that suggests slightly less than the calculated length results in resonance and practically the same radiation pattern, probably also true for 1/4 wave. There'a also not much of a ground plane either so I'm tempted to say this slight shortening could even be beneficial:
http://www.antenna-theory.com/antennas/halfwave.php
Mark.

sparky

« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2016, 09:11:20 PM »
So being these are monopole, would the same be true?

perky

« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2016, 09:24:58 PM »
I don't know the answer to that :-(

Felix

• Administrator
    • LowPowerLab