Author Topic: 915Mhz Lora Moteino and epoxy potting  (Read 2331 times)

warp929

• NewMember
915Mhz Lora Moteino and epoxy potting
« on: February 01, 2017, 10:25:32 PM »
Hello everyone.  I'm new to RF transceivers and have only been at it for about a month.  Recently I potted a Moteino and my reception went down to about a 1/3 of what it was before potting.  I assume that the potting is the culprit but I'm not sure why.  Could it be that it created shielding from the ground plane?  Below are the specifications of my setup.

My "transmitter" is a Moteino Lora 915MHz with a couple push buttons enclosed in a polycarbonate case with an external 915MHz antenna.
My "receiver" is a Moteino Lora 915MHz with a relay enclosed in a polycarbonate case with the supplied 915MHz wire attached to the Moteino.
Range was 3/4 mile before potting.

I then potted the "receiver" with MG Chemical 832B potting compound up to the point of just covering the Atmel microprocessor.  The antenna was not in the potting compound and remained attached to the side of the polycarbonate case.  (http://www.mgchemicals.com/products/potting-compounds/epoxy-potting-compounds/black-epoxy-832b)
Range became 1/4 mile after potting

Will adding a wire (915MHz 1/4 wave length) from the Moteino ground help.  That ground wire will then be outside of the potting.  My assumption is that it will create a dipole antenna.  Any thoughts on this idea or other possible solutions while keeping the potting?  I know I can use an external antenna but the chance of breaking it is high.  Options that keep the antenna in the polycarbonate enclosure are preferred.  Thank you.

Felix

• Administrator
    • LowPowerLab
Re: 915Mhz Lora Moteino and potting
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2017, 11:53:24 AM »
Never tried potting but that is strange that the epoxy can have such a dramatic effect.