Author Topic: Automatic Pool Fill (MightyHat, Pi3, MySql/Python, Sprinkler Valve, eTape)  (Read 26489 times)

G550_Pilot

Hey Everyone -

I set out to automate my family's pool's water level using a Moteino, a Pi3, eTape, EmonCMS, some MySQL/PHP scripts a sprinkler valve and pushbullet (for notifications).

This is my first project with a Moteino and it was a lot of fun. I learned a lot about the Moteino (thanks Tom and Felix) and actually put something together that works!

The moteino is connected to a eTape sensor. Every minute (eventually 10 minutes) I read the sensor to determine the water level in our pool. I record the resistance being returned from the eTape, the battery voltage, the RSSI and a water level bit I set in the sketch based on the resistance value as well. This information is transmitted to my EmonPi and from there to my self hosted emoncms. So long as the water is above a certain level, nothing happens.

If the water level gets below a certain point, I toggle the pool.level bit that I am sending out to emoncms from a 1 to a 0. I also throw on the LED.

On my Pi, I am running a PHP script that checks that bit every minute and if it is low, it turns on a sprinkler control valve and starts filling the pool. Eventually the Moteino will detect that the pool is at the correct level, set the pool.level bit back to a 1 and my PHP script will detect that and shut off the valve.

I am using pushbullet (free) for my notification system. It notified me when the pool is low and the refilling has started and it notifies me when the pool is back to normal and the refilling has stopped.