Author Topic: Advice please on do-ability of project  (Read 1221 times)

Physwiz

• NewMember
Advice please on do-ability of project
« on: November 05, 2018, 08:22:17 AM »
Hi, as a newbie, I would be grateful for the Moteino community to review how and what I intend to do.
I’m a physiotherapist (physical therapist in North America) and I have housebound neurological patients who struggle to initiate the first step. Once going and with a prompt (traditionally a metronome) they can walk to the beat. As my patients are housebound, I need to take my gym with me.
I need to take small units to hang on the walls that beep and flash in time and in unison, controlled by a unit that I hold.
I have created a hardwired version using an UNO. It has a main unit with on/off and ‘faster’ and ‘slower’ buttons and wires to two boxes. Each box has a red LED, a green LED and a beeper.
Let’s say I think my patient could walk at 20 steps a minute. I press my ‘faster’ button until the display reads 20 and then the red and green LEDs alternately flash 20 times / minute alongside a beep.
The patient then steps left (red) and right ( green) with alternating high and low tone beeps.
I can slow this or speed this as she walks. As you can guess wires are fiddly  and dangerous in a patient’s home.
So, depending on the layout of a patient’s home, I want to hang up 2 or 4 or 7 boxes depending on what they need. In this way they’re not just walking up and down, they can visit the kitchen, up the stairs, the toilet and so on.
My thoughts - is the rfm69 915 suitable? Is the Moteino USB a good micro controller for this, running off a battery? Battery life - can the ‘slave’ units sit on the wall for an extended period of time until ‘woken up’?
Is my Uno code going to run on a Moteino I think they use the same chip?
Feasibility - I’m a Physio not a coder but I do have some time. My Uno set up has taken six months on and off but the hardware is now OK (i.e. I can now solder!) Is this do-able?