Author Topic: Adding additional CT50 thermostat to gateway  (Read 160 times)

Kilo95

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Country: us
Adding additional CT50 thermostat to gateway
« on: September 03, 2019, 09:15:59 AM »
What all is required to add a second CT50 thermostat to the gateway? I tried duplicating the lines in metrics.js to Thermostat 2 but it just duplicates the first one. Does the latest update of the PI Gateway software support a second one? (I haven't updated yet) Thanks

sparky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • Country: us
Re: Adding additional CT50 thermostat to gateway
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2019, 10:54:57 AM »
Wouldn't settings.json5 need 2 instances of radiothermostat?

Kilo95

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Country: us
Re: Adding additional CT50 thermostat to gateway
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2019, 10:57:26 AM »
i'm sorry. i tried that and the metrics.js. I added the second ip on the gateway settings page. It is reading from only one of the CT50s. (It was showing 72.5F. I checked both, one was 73 and one was 75).

Felix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6023
  • Country: us
    • LowPowerLab
Re: Adding additional CT50 thermostat to gateway
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2019, 01:48:07 PM »
If you add a new empty node, give it some unused unique ID, and set it to type "Thermostat (CT-50)" then it will inherit the IP setting from the main settings. Do NOT add another IP setting.
Then you can edit the IP address in the node settings section to the corresponding IP of the second thermostat.
I think that should make it work.

Kilo95

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Country: us
Re: Adding additional CT50 thermostat to gateway
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2019, 03:05:36 PM »
It looks like that did it. Thanks. I was making it much harder than it should have been