Author Topic: Can't Init Flash Memory on Moteino M0 [solved: pull radio CS HIGH!]  (Read 1950 times)

brandock

• NewMember
I'm new to the Moteino M0. I've mostly used Moteino USB and Moteino. I'm trying to upload and use the SPIFlash_ReadWrite example sketch in the library. I am using it as I found it, other than replacing SS_FLASHMEM with 8. I've pasted the sketch below, in case that is helpful.

When I load the sketch into an original Moteino, I get the expected output.

Code: [Select]
Start...Init OK!

Available operations:
'c' - read flash chip's deviceID 10 times to ensure chip is present
'd' - dump first 256 bytes on the chip
'e' - erase entire flash chip
'i' - read deviceID

DeviceID: EF30

Then I load the same sketch into the Moteino M0 and get no output. I hit "c" and "I" and get the following.

Checking chip is present ... FAIL, deviceID is inconsistent or 0x0000/0xffff
DeviceID: 0

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Brandon

#include <SPIFlash.h>    //get it here: https://github.com/LowPowerLab/SPIFlash

#define SERIAL_BAUD      115200
char input = 0;
long lastPeriod = -1;

//////////////////////////////////////////
// flash(SPI_CS, MANUFACTURER_ID)
// SPI_CS          - CS pin attached to SPI flash chip (8 in case of Moteino)
// MANUFACTURER_ID - OPTIONAL, 0x1F44 for adesto(ex atmel) 4mbit flash
//                             0xEF30 for windbond 4mbit flash
//                             0xEF40 for windbond 64mbit flash
//////////////////////////////////////////
uint16_t expectedDeviceID=0xEF30;
SPIFlash flash(SS_FLASHMEM, expectedDeviceID);

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(SERIAL_BAUD);
  Serial.print("Start...");

if (flash.initialize())
  {
    Serial.println("Init OK!");
    Blink(20, 10);
  }
  else {
    Serial.print("Init FAIL, expectedDeviceID(0x");
    Serial.print(expectedDeviceID, HEX);
    Serial.print(") mismatched the read value: 0x");
    Serial.println(flash.readDeviceId(), HEX);
  }

Serial.println("\n************************");