Author Topic: Low power servo idle  (Read 4030 times)

snorp

Low power servo idle
« on: February 16, 2016, 04:06:17 PM »
I'm using the Moteino to control a servo, and I want it to use very little power while it's not actually controlling it. I have a N-channel MOSFET to control power to the servo, but the signal line seems to draw about 3ma (!) when connected to the Moteino. I got it down to about 500uA by switching the pin to INPUT during sleep, and a 10k resistor in series got me down to 350uA or so. At that point the servo started to experience some control issues, however. How can I get the power usage lower? Is it possible to use another MOSFET for the signal? I'm a software guy by trade, so I'm pretty new to this stuff. Thanks!

Felix

• Administrator
    • LowPowerLab
Re: Low power servo idle
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2016, 04:24:59 PM »
Any possibility we could see a schematic of how that N channel is wired to the moteino and servo?

snorp

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2016, 05:08:59 PM »
Here's the schematic. It does not show the series resistor on D7, but otherwise that's what I have.

TomWS

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2016, 05:27:25 PM »
I'm using the Moteino to control a servo, and I want it to use very little power while it's not actually controlling it. I have a N-channel MOSFET to control power to the servo, but the signal line seems to draw about 3ma (!) when connected to the Moteino. I got it down to about 500uA by switching the pin to INPUT during sleep, and a 10k resistor in series got me down to 350uA or so. At that point the servo started to experience some control issues, however. How can I get the power usage lower? Is it possible to use another MOSFET for the signal? I'm a software guy by trade, so I'm pretty new to this stuff. Thanks!