Author Topic: Help with battery powered Moteino sketch  (Read 22253 times)

G550_Pilot

Help with battery powered Moteino sketch
« on: May 04, 2016, 02:31:49 PM »
Hello Everyone -

I am new to the Moteino, having just received my first 5 units with the RFM69HW radio and flash onboard. I am looking to use it as a sensor node that measures the level of my pool water and transmits this information back to emoncms. I am using a product called eTape manufactured by Milone Tech and sold by Adafruit.

The sketch works great and does exactly what it is supposed to do, but I am monitoring the battery voltage (4 x AA) and just overnight I have seen a drop in voltage from 5.78 volts to 5.625 which means at this rate I will be replacing batteries often! I have read in several plaes to connect my batteries to 3.3V OUT as opposed to VIN.

Here are my connections:

A0 connected to 560 Ohm resistor
One side of eTape connected to same side of resistor and A0
Other side of resistor connected to 3.3V OUT
4 x AA Batteries connected to GND & also to same 3.3V OUT pin as above
Other side of eTape connected to GND

I used some of the code from a previous 'arduino' like unit to make it work and I just do not know
if I have somehow now set up the power reduction stuff correctly.

I have attached the sketch as well...any ideas would be greatly appreciated....

TomWS

Re: Help with battery powered Moteino sketch
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 02:47:34 PM »
Hello Everyone -

I am new to the Moteino, having just received my first 5 units with the RFM69HW radio and flash onboard. I am looking to use it as a sensor node that measures the level of my pool water and transmits this information back to emoncms. I am using a product called eTape manufactured by Milone Tech and sold by Adafruit.