Author Topic: Two way messaging - Adding a payload in ACKs [solution]  (Read 2430 times)

Creotom

• NewMember
Two way messaging - Adding a payload in ACKs [solution]
« on: November 23, 2018, 05:07:07 AM »
Hi all, I'm new to coding and I could do with being pointed in the right direction here.

I have a bank of relays that I am controlling successfully with 2 Moteino Megas.
The remote has the "struct_send" code on it and the receiver tied to the relays has the "struct_recieve" code on it.
With some relatively simple modification I have buttons I can press (momentary and latching) that will trigger the relays to drive a series of valves.

The receiver also has some sensors tied to it that are monitoring temperatures and pressures and valve states.
I would periodically like this sensor data relayed back to the transmitter so that I can display them to the operator.
This does not need to be updated as regularly as the button commands.
Once a second would be more than adequate.

From browsing this forum it looks like the best way to send this data back is to attach it to the "ACK".
Is this correct? I can't find an example of how this is done, I'm wondering if I have to tinker in the library which may be a bit above my skill set?

Thanks for hearing me out  :)

« Last Edit: November 26, 2018, 03:10:43 PM by Felix »

Felix

• Administrator
    • LowPowerLab
Re: 2way messaging?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2018, 11:34:18 AM »
Did you see the TXRXBlinky example?

Creotom

• NewMember
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2018, 07:51:05 AM »
Hi Felix,

Thanks for your response. I just experimented with the code in TXRXBlinky and I feel I understand what it is doing.
However it leaves me with the same problem as before.
It is only sending an "ACK" back to the reciever.
I want to attach data to that "ACK". Unfortunately I can't find an example or description of how that is done yet.

Ideally I would like the receiver to say...